Transfering Goldfish From Tank To Outside Pond

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Villy Valley

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have a goldfish which is about 3 inches long and he is sharing a tank with fancy goldfish eg black moor etc. The goldfish is bullying them and so I want to put him in a friends pond along with their own goldfish. In the UK the pond temperature at the moment is extremely cold compared with the indoor tank. How quickly can I get him out of the tank and into the pond and how should I do it. I guess if I just put him in now he will die from the shock of the cold water.

Villy Valley

I'm no pond expert but i dont think its a good idea until late spring when the water is warming up.

i did similar last winter as it was a nessecity.

i caught the gold fish and places him in a large bucket with tank water and floated that in the pond for an hour to acclimiatise.

as said though wait till the warmer weather i just did it as it was a def must

wait has long has you can,then put the fish in a bag with water in and float it on the pond for about half an hour then release it.

not a good idea to move fish outside. If you go to garden centres they are not selling pond fish for that reason. Can you not get a big bucket and put him in that..no got a better idea...ring round you LFS and see if they will take him. If you put him outside now he will surely die of shock/cold!

I would not do it now, its sooo cold here, he will do better in a large tub till spring, even if you acclimatise for an hour, it is still a HUGE drop in tempurature and she will most likely get sick, or worse die. it will be too much for his system to cope with. sorry :(

i have a large pond the coldest it got was 3.7 degrees brrrr the temp in my tank was 20 degress, so your goldie could well die from the shock of temp