Too Many Issues To Have An Accurate Topic Title

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Be4st

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to fish-keeping and require some advice/help. I know I have messed up but fish seem to be fine.(misunderstood fish-less cycle) They are feeding well and get very happy when they see me. Pre-warning, this post is going to be quite long as I am going to tell you how I started (from tank setup to now), just so you know the facts and can better tell me what to do.

So here goes.

• I bought my 50L/11 Gal tank from my local pet store. It came with a 200L filter and shielded lighting. I also purchased roughly half an inch of gravel from there also.
  • Once home, I washed every item with warm water and proceeded to set up the tank.
  • I filled the tank up with water straight from the tap (no de-chlorinator), turned on the filter and left it running for roughly 5 days.
  • I then purchased Tetra Aqua-Safe and added the correct amount and stirred it around slowly with my hands to make sure it was mixed well. Stirred up gravel too to make sure there was no crap resting under there.
  • Purchased Air pump, 10" air-stone and heater and set the heater up to run at 24-25 C. (75/77 F).
  • I left the tank running again for roughly a week
  • I purchased 3 Female Guppies, 2 Female Platys and 3 live plants from Pets@Home and took them straight home.
  • Correctly adjusted fish to water temperature whilst still inside the bag for 15 mins and then added water from tank to the bag and left them for another 15 before adding them into the tank. (did not add water from bag. Just the fish. Also added plants/ornaments whilst they were getting adjusted in the bags)
  • Realised I needed more gravel to anchor plants, so I purchased more, thoroughly washed it and added it by hand very slowly into the tank. It got a little cloudy but disappeared in 3/4 hours.