The Missing Nitrite

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

macphyter

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
   I've been reading this forum for weeks now, and I feel like I have a pretty good grasp on the chemistry of the fishless cylcing, although I'm still a beginner.  I started cycling my first tank recently, and something is not quite right.  Here's the stats:

20 gal tank, Aquaclear 50 filter, 2 inches of gravel, and artificial plants.

I set it up and added 2.25 mL of 10% ammonia solution (no surfactants), and got these readings using API master test kit.
Day 1:  Ammonia-3.0ppm, Nitrite-0, Nitrate- 5.0, PH 8.0

I've been testing every day, and the ammonia stayed at 3.0 until day 13-
Day 12: Ammonia-3.0, Nitrite-0
Day 13: Ammonia-2.0, Nitrite-0
Day 14: Ammonia-2.0, Nitrite-0
Day 15: Ammonia-1.0, Nitrite-0, PH 8.2, KH 196.9, GH 35.8
Day 16: Ammonia-0.5, Nitrite-0

I understand the cycle enough to know that this is impossible- where is that ammonia going if its not being converted to nitrite?
In order to gather more information, I bought an API water hardness test kit, and got the additional info on Day 15.  Should I be worried about the very high KH value?

It looks like my ammonia test is working properly, because its going down right on schedule, but the nitrite test results are clearly wrong.  I've followed the instructions VERY carefully, but I never see any shade of purple, always the same light blue color.  My best guess is that maybe my Nitrite test liquid is bad.  The expiration date on the bottle is 05/2018, but is it possible that its just bad?  When I first opened up the kit, I noticed that the nitrite test bottle lid was not screwed on very tight because when I shook it, some leaked out.  Could it have gone bad from sitting on the shelf in the store with a loose cap like that? 

Does anyone have any other theories?  If not, I may just go buy a new nitrite test kit to see if that's the problem.