The "inch Per Gallon" Rule

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

FlakeyBiscuit3.14

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
I am very new to the aquarium hobby (I have had one 10G with some guppies for a few months now lol) but I have been researching like crazy for my new 29G tank that I will be getting here in a few days. This time I am going to cycle it properly, so I still have quite a bit of time to continue researching and plan out my tank before any fish decisions are made.

But this brings me to my current dilemma... the "one inch per gallon of tank" rule.

Now, I know that this rule is general and does not apply to the behavior of the fish. Such as you should not keep a full grown 6" rainbow shark in a 10G even though it will technically fit. And just because you can fit 1 oscar, 2 ciclids, and 5 guppies in a tank by this rule does not mean those fish should EVER go together.

My problem is that, by this rule, I will be able to keep far less fish than I had hoped.

For example, I really want cory cats and I was hoping for one schooling species too. But if I get 6 julii cories, and 8 bloodfin tetras, both 2 inches full grown, that already puts me at 28 inches for my 29G tank! And beyond that, once the substrate and decor is in the tank, won't it be considered less than 29G? Because there is less swimming space?

If I were to stock the tank exactly as I wanted it, with no regard to this rule, I would probably put 6 pygmy corries, 4 julii cories, 8 bloodfin tetras, and 5 male guppies (from my 10G). This totals to full grown 40 inches. Obviously 40 is quite a bit over 29. Is this a ridiculous over-stocking? I know that experienced fish keepers can keep overstocked tanks and just do more frequent water changes, but as already stated, I am no where near experienced in this hobby yet.