Tetra white nose?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Fitzy28

Reaction score
Hi all. This is my first post. I am new to fish keeping and i have had my tank since august this year. I started it by cycling it with tetra safe start and with 3 platys and 5 neon tetras. and building with a few fish every few weeks / month I now have 4 tetras (one disappeared a month ago never to be found), 4 harlequins, 2 platys, 6 guppys and 3 panda corys.

Only today i noticed one of my tetras has a white dint that looks like the top of his nose has been taken over by this white spot. He is still eating and swimming with the other 3.

My water parameters (using dip sticks) are ammonia less than 0.5, gh 60, kh 40, ph 7, no2 0, no3 20. I do 15-25% water changes weekly.

If anyone can help id be grateful. All my other fish of all species seem fine and healthy

Attachments

• fish1.jpg
    fish1.jpg
    5 KB · Views: 377
  • fish2.jpg
    fish2.jpg
    7.4 KB · Views: 367
  • fish3.jpg
    fish3.jpg
    7.4 KB · Views: 384
I’m curious if anyone has an answer to this post. I have one tetra with the exact same issue. The pic is identical to my fish.

It's either mouth fungus (Columnaris) or a fat lip from swimming into something and bruising the mouth.

How long has the tank been set up for?
Have you tested the water for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate & pH?

How long have you had the fish?
How long has the fish had the white bit on its mouth for?
Have you added anything new to the tank in the last 2 weeks?

-----------------------
If it's swelling from a fat lip it will heal up by itself over the next few weeks. But if it's Columnaris, it will kill everything very quickly.