Tank update

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Wills

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator ⚒️
Tank of the Month 🏆
Reaction score
Hi everyone :) I used to be really active here but I have not been around for a while.

I've been letting my tank coast for a few years as a lot of my fish were starting to get very old. I have a few fish that are only 2-3 years old but I have had some of them for 5-7 years and some were adults when I got them.

I am currently running a 135 gallon tank (6ft x 2ft tall x 18 inch wide) with 2 FX6 filters.

The fish I have right now are

1 Threadfin Acara
1 Uaru
1 Geophagus sp Tapajo Red Head
2 Annostomus Ternetzi
1 Agenesous sp.
1 Dwarf hoplo sp.
2 Flagtail Catfish

The youngest fish are the Uaru and the Geo, I used to have full schools of all the shoaling fish and the gregarious cichlids (though only 2 Uaru) I unfortunately lost a few of the younger fish when an old whiptail catfish died while we were away for a weekend - I assume the whiptail as they were the futhest decomposed and the eldest of the dead fish. This is one of the reasons I left the tank quiet for a while as I feel a few of my older fish are on their last legs so to speak.

However... the past few weeks I have had to replace some equipment (lights) which got me looking around an LFS for the first time in a while and it made me wonder about rekindling my tank. But I am wary of what options I have...

My initial plans are to rehome the Uaru and the Geo and possibly the Annostomus as they are quite young still but the rest of the fish are so old that I worry it wouldnt be the best for them. The flagtail is a bit over 7 years old, the hoplo and flagtails were adult when I got them and that must have been 6 years ago? The Agenisous (spelling) is probably a bit under 5 but again was an adult when I bought him.