Swollen Shubunkin?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Rommy

Reaction score
Not sure if I am posting in the right place, but I am concerned about my fish and this is my first time posting here.

Size of aquarium/pond - 400 litres

Types of fish - goldfish, shubunkin, comet, ryukin, fantail

Number of fish and sizes - 5, 2x 3" fantails (not including tail), 4" ryukin (not including tail), 11" comet (not including tail) and 7" shubunkin (not including tail)

Filtration used and how do you clean it and how often - 2x internal fluval filters with bio media, and 1x external fluval canister with purigen and matrix. Check the canisters once a month and if rinsing is needed, use tank water. Replaced purigen recently as it was expired.

How much in the way of water changes and how often -- 25-30% weekly using gravel vac

Do you dechlorinate - yes, prime

Symptoms of sick fish ie, spots, behaviour, etc - one fish, the shubunkin, is swelling up. It is most obvious behind the gills, and extends the length of its body. There is no raised scales, and the fish is still active, but when netting for a salt bath, is stiller and less energetic than normal. Still has a good appetite, but cannot chew whole deshelled peas as it used to, can only eat then now when i break them into 1/8ths. I read somewhere it may be chronic dropsy from worms, but i wormed them maybe 6 months ago, the comet was checked for worms on a checkup and the vet found none, and none of the others have ever bloated.