Stringy White Poop

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

fishmandds

Reaction score
I am new to so bear with me, i have had a few fatalities due to something strang going on in the tank. I had a blue gauromis, black and a white balloon molly, and a female guppy all have succomb to what every this is. symptoms: long white srting poop, some times looked like packed sausages incased in white. enlarged anus and some of the fish darted, finally become listless they eventually death. I have assumed parasite infection and treated with parasite tab twice.

I do regular weekly water changes andoften clean tank completely every month or so. Does any have anyidea whats going on and why it hasn't gone away. currently my other female guppy is having the same signs happen.

Parameter:

Nitrate- about 20ppm
Nitrite- 0
GH - about 100ppm
KH - about 120ppm
PH - 7.5
temmp. currently 77-78 F

Tank 10 gallon
1 male, 1 female guppy (2nd female recently died)
1male, 1 female balloon molly
1 sunset platy

Any inisight would be great thanks

:shout:

"and some of the fish darted"

what does this mean? :hyper:

sounds like internal parasites, Waterlife Sterazin markets itself as being able to "perhaps" treat this. You may also want to look in to Flubenzol 15 as a treatment

what does this mean? :hyper:

sounds like internal parasites, Waterlife Sterazin markets itself as being able to "perhaps" treat this. You may also want to look in to Flubenzol 15 as a treatment

--> i meant that the balloon mollies, especially the black one kept rubbing up against the the objects in the tank, so much that its scales were coming off. The other fish that died just stopped eating and hid in the corners. The strange thing is the black balloon molly ate just fine until it died

I do regular weekly water changes andoften clean tank completely every month or so.

When you say you clean the tank completely every month what exactly do you do?