Stocking Ideas For 50 Gal Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Atsy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Need stocking ideas for a 50 gallon tank, 48" x 12" x 20".  Got it for a steal off craigslist, upgraded the filter and will probably upgrade the lights at some point in the near future since I would like to have more plants and what is there really isn't enough watts per gallon.

Filter: Fluval 406
Substrate: play sand
Lights: 2 T-8 15 watts

I am new to the hobby, my hubs is very well versed in taking care of freshwater fish but is taking a backseat since this is my project.  (He can help with maintenance, water changes, tank cleanings etc
wink.png
 ).

So, we are looking at fairly small shoaling fish, such as tetras.  Not too sure what else.  We like cherry barbs, maybe swordtails, or zebra danios.  I'm really interested in inverts for some reason. We were thinking of having some Malaysian Trumpet Snails and possibly some red cherry shrimp. 

Anyways, here is a photo of the tank so far, have a few plants, driftwood, rocks, a rock with moss that looks like a really bad toupee, and the lovely brown algae that is growing while we cycle.

Any thoughts or suggestions?  All appreciated!

DSC05584_zps4f4eda71.jpg

Just wondering, why do you not have your tank filled to the top, and keep it there? I've seen many other people do that, so I was just wondering, I like keeping mine filled past the black line.

So if you want to do shoaling fish (i.e. tetras) as you said, then you don't want swordtails as those are livebearers (higher pH) and your tetras are lower pH, so while many people do mix them, it is not the best, and if some babies can hide under that tree to the left or in the plants as they go you could get many unwanted babies. Here's what I recommend:

*2 bristlenose pleco 
*16 cardinal tetras
*4 german blue rams