Stocking Advice needed

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Janntom

Reaction score
hi, I'm new to this hobby and would appreciate some advice...
I have a 125 gallon tank (450 litres). It's lightly planted with gravel over sand substrate. I currently have
8 neon tetras
6 mollies plus a good few fry perhaps 10
8 guppies plus a couple fry
4 shrimp
8 golden barbs
4 cherry barbs
3 sucker fish who's name beings with a
A few small random snails who snuck in with the gravel...
So, I'd love some bigger type fish over time who won't annoy my current fish, but I'd like to have the number of fry controlled too but not to risk my current guys. Any suggestions? Was thinking small angel fish but that seems to be a future death sentence for my neon tetras...

To answer the unasked, dimensions are 1500 x 50 x 50 cms
Temperature 26*c
Kh 7.25
Ph 7
Other parameters good

Welcome to TFF. :hi:

Angelfish would not do well in this tank with many of the present fish. Angelfish are sedate, cruising among branches and plants. All barbs are active swimmers (the cherry perhaps less so, an exception), and this annoys sedate fish to no end. There is also the possibility of grown angelfish eating neons, true, I had this happen many years ago. And shoaling fish do tend to become fin nippers when in the presence of sedate fish, and barbs are notorious for this.

Do you have the GH? KH is stated as 7.25, am I correct assuming this is in degrees, not ppm or mg/l? The GH is important for fish because of the minerals calcium and magnesium, with some fish needing more (mollies in particular heree) while soft water fish (neons) need none or as low as possible. Barbs are sort of in the middle, but on the soft side if anything. "Sucker fish"...you didn't say which.