Stock My Freshwater Tank. Help Stocking :)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

cooledwhip

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hey everyone I have a 20 gallon long freshwater planted tank that I've had for about 2 months now. It is cycled and the plants are doing AMAZING. 

Throughout the course of the 2 months I had lots of trouble with the plants and didn't think they would grow but they are flourishing now and I am propogating them to the point where I have a 10 gallon setup so I can put more plants in...

Anyway. In my tank I have a bristlenose albino pleco (he is like half and inch now he's a baby but I got him a week ago and he's doing fine)

And a single blue moscow guppy. I am ready to stock my tank and want some ideas as I am new to the hobby. I think angelfish are beautiful fish but I've read they only do well in  larger tanks.
 I really want some guppies in the tank too

Any suggestions about what fish to put in? Thanks much.

I really like this fish: http://nanoaquatics.co.za/edr/

It will help members to suggest fish if we know your water parameters, meaning the hardness (GH) and pH, and you might as well find out the KH (Alkalinity or carbonate hardness) as well.  Check your muncipal water authority's website, as such data is often posted.

This can be important, more for some fish and less for others.  The species you linked, Celestichthys erythromicron, will not do well in soft or acidic water as it says in the data there, so knowing the parameters will help.

You are quite correct, that an angelfish cannot manage in a 20g long tank.  While fish in stores are small, they do grow, and this one will if healthy easily reach six inches in length, with a vertical fin span of 8-9 inches.  And while I'm on this aspect, fish grow continually and need sufficient space to do so properly, or they can become stunted; so it is important to have the necessary space available early on.

Byron.

Byron said: