Starting A Brackish Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

HeatherSwaby

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to this forum.
I am about to start up a brackish tank, I am new to the hobby and have only ever had coldwater fish before. I have been to my local aquatics shop and they are selling puffers and bumblebee gobies in freshwater. How do I acclimatise the fish from fresh to brackish? Oh and i am looking at a figure 8 puffer with some knight gobies.
Thanks

Hello HeatherSwaby,
Brackish is little different to freshwater especially at the salinity that you will be running this tank at, say SG1.03@25 DegC.  The best advice is to start the tank of at the same salinity as the dealers tank that your fish will be coming from.  If they are coming from fresh water then you can cycle fresh and up the salinity once you have the fish.  You can adjust the salinity adding more or less salt as you see fit, there is a general rule that you should not adjust the salinity by more than SG0.02 at any time to avoid killing off much of the nitrifying bacteria in your filter.

You will need marine salt (not aquarium or tonic salt) as that contains the other minerals required not just sodium chloride.  You will also need a hydrometer or refractometer, refractometers are more accurate but since you are keeping brackish fish as opposed to marine then personally I don't see any reason for the extra outlay.

Figure 8 puffers are lovely fish and I have one myself but a Knight Goby will most likely predate a Bumblebee Goby so I'd recommend choosing one or the other.

Are you fishlessly cycling or can you obtain filter media from a friend?

Re-read my post tonight and noticed that I missed a zero from the numbers, they should read 1.003 and 0.002