Soup's On!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

attibones

Fish Gatherer
Reaction score
I decided to share some of my cooking adventures here. I'm a good cook, definitely. I love finding new recipes and exploring different ingredients. Tonight, I made sweet potato soup featuring cilantro, cumin and, of course, sweet potato. This earthy soup is highlighted by coriander and carmalized onion which is accented by a nice, nutty Parmesan.

I found this recipe in the most recent edition of Cooking Light. I have adjusted a few things to better suit my tastes:

2 large sweet potatoes
4 cups vegetable broth (though the original called for chicken stock, I think)
1/4 cup water
Coriander, ground
Cumin, ground
Red pepper, crushed
Black pepper
Salt
Cilantro
1 onion
Freshly grated Parm

Get a large microwaveable dish and place each potato in the dish. You're going to have already sliced ten longways. Place them cut side down in the dish with the water at the bottom. This will make the potato tender in just 15 minutes.

Cook the onion, chopped, over medium heat with one or two swirls of olive oil, until the onions are translucent. At this point add some coriander, cumin, red pepper, salt an pepper. I don't measure seasonings, so you may want to start out with just a smidge of each. Remember to taste! Then add your stock. Bring it to a boil.

You'll also want to remove the skin from the potatoes and discard them (or do what I do and give the skins to your dogs because they are full of nutrients). The potatoes should be cooled slightly by the point. Take half of your potatoes and half of your broth mixture and plop them in a blender. Purée and pour this half in a bowl. Repeat with the remaining potato and broth. Stir in chipped cilantro. I don't know how much I used. Probably enough for half a cup. Add finishing salt and a last grind of pepper. Garnish with shredded Parm.

I also made panini to go along with this.
Sourdough bread