Slime Coat Problem

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Synirr

"No one is a failure unless you try"
Reaction score
Before I left for the show this weekend one of my juvies was looking kinda lethargic, now it's worse. Something is definitely wrong with his slime coat, an infection or something; his fins are literally sticking together, not just clampy, and that includes his pectorals so he's having trouble swimming. Anyone know what this is? I tossed in a little of everything I had yesterday that I knew I could use together, Quick Cure, Maracyn, and Melafix, and he looks better today, but I'd rather just use what works :p

if you get no further information,chances are only 1 of those meds is making him feel better.I would give him melafix for 2-3 days and observe him.if he improves then id stick with the melafix only,otherwise do the same with the others.1 of them is bound to help.Im no expert but over medicating never helped anyone.

Well see, if I use just one for a couple of days to see which is actually the one helping, and it's the wrong one, he'll get worse in those couple of days and potentially die. At this point it's not something I can risk, he's not at the point of no return and right now I'm confident he can recover, but a couple of days without the proper medication and he's a goner. It progressed very fast during the two days I was gone, there's no way I'm going to chance it.