Should I buy the heavily discounted display Aqua One Regency - I'm new to fish keeping

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Yarkii

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I'm new to fish-keeping. All I've set-up so far is a second-hand 20L tank with a goldfish in it (happily swimming amongst a few plants & a couple of ornaments - he seems to be doing okay).

I'm very keen to set up a much bigger tank with tropical fish. I've been looking at local aquariums and pet stores, and found one pet store that are selling some display model tanks "as is", saying they're the end of the line.

I'm considering an Aqua One Regency 220L tank with stand/cabinet & sump. It's very heavily reduced in price. I'm not sure how the fact that it's a display model will affect the warranty. I also know nothing about sumps.

Would you recommend this kind of tank to a beginner? Does a sump filter equate to differences in care of the fish and the tank? Would you invest in an aquarium without a warranty? Even though it's heavily reduced, it's still A LOT of money.

I'm hoping to have lots of beautiful plants in the tank, and to eventually have a couple of angelfish (maybe), some mollies & platys & cardinals & cory cats (maybe pandas), and maybe a dwarf gourami. I'll ask about plant and fish recommendations in alternate posts once I've purchased a tank. For now I just want to find the right tank, that I can afford.

Thanks in advance.
:)

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Buy the biggest tank that you can afford and house, end of. If you have the space and resources to get a tank bigger than the 220l then don't get it, you'll kick yourself in the long run. If 220l is only possible because of the deal, then take it.

The rest can all be worked around. Do remember though that bigger tanks make for heftier kit, so that features in the price.

Nothing wrong with tropical sumps, just not standard practice.