Sexing Tiger Barbs (Help!)

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

klav07

Reaction score
Title says it all, but basically I recently purchased 5 Tiger Barbs.
I forgot to ask what sex they were, but lurking around here I found out that
that information would probably be incorrect anyhow. (I'm pretty new to fish keeping)
So! I've come to you! Can you guys help me sex my 5 barbs?
(Sorry for posting another one of these, just didn't want to
necropost or threadjack somebody)

I don't really have any good pictures, this is about the best one I have but
heres my flickr if you need to see more: Klav07's Flickr Album
6469553199_e8e263c7d9_z.jpg

If that picture doesn't cut it, I have a youtube video that I think should really help:
At about 44seconds you can get a clear side shot of all 5.

Also, I made this video to compare them from the day I bought it to currently.
They started to get really big around the belly so I was thinking maybe they were
pregnant. But I thought the majority of them were male ): so I'm lost, haha.

Thanks in advance!

Males tend to be slender, and have a red line down the dorsal fin, and a red nose. Females are more plump, and the red marks are much less defined.

If the tiger barbs are extremely plump, think "am I over feeding?" or "Does my fish have an internal parasite?" before "My tiger barb is gonna lay eggs!"

Tiger barbs are very prone to over eating. Give them a set amount of food, and if they gobble it up in 3 seconds like they were starving, that's normal. Do not give them more. They'll never stop. My tigers even go after the catfish food after their food is gone.