Second Sick/dead Fish In A Month

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

NJPeggySue

Reaction score
I wouldn't say I'm new to the hobby, but I  didn't know where else to post this.  So I've had my 20-gallon tank running continuously for approximately 10 years.  In those ten years, I've never had a problem with disease.  However, in the last month the weirdest thing has been happening.  Two of my fish, both tetras but different kinds have had the same symptoms. The second is in the process of dying right now. I have no idea what they have/had but I don't want my other fist to get it.  Anyway, they both were laying on their sides spinning in circles.  Like frantically spinning in circles, not lazily or floating in circles but spastically swimming in circles. Basically, like they had no control over their bodies. I tried treating them for swim bladder issues, with medicine, salt baths, and peas obviously this had no effect on them.  I of course, googled it and whirling disease came up.  Essentially what I want to know is if whirling disease can even exist in a tropical tank?  I read that it can't but I don't know what else they could have.  I removed them both from the tank when I realized they were ill and hoped that this would prevent other fish from catching whatever they have but now the second one is sick and the first fish has been out of the tank for approximately two weeks.  Anway, I feel like this email is very scattered but any assistance would greatly be appreciated I don't want to lose any more fish.  The one that is sick now, I've had for five years.  I've never had problems before and don't know what could be wrong now :( I"m going to test the water now, but wanted to post this first.  I'm super confused about what's going on. Thanks for any help/advice you can give me.