Samb's 5G Fluval Chi Reef

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

SamB

Fishaholic
Reaction score
First of all, I'll start this with a warning: I'm a full time college student with a part time job, so while I will do my best, regular posting might not always happen.

Ok, with that out of the way, let's go back in time to the start of my saltwater adventure.

Here it is:

20130715_183552.jpg

I'd been after a fluval tank for ages, and saw this chi for a killer deal on craigslist, so I picked it up with no idea what I wanted to do with it. It doesn't look like much now, but I really love the shape of the tank. Unfortunately, the tall shape leaves it rather unsuitable for most fish, and I'm not crazy about most freshwater shrimp. So, I decided this was going to be my first saltwater tank. 

The first thing I did was start thinking about a sump. I know 5g is a very small volume of water for a saltwater tank, and I was heavily considering a 10g sump to upgrade my water volume by a factor of 3. I quickly ran into a series of issues:
  1. I have no idea how to make a sump
  2. Sump equipment is expensive and I am a college student on a budget
  3. There's already a unit under my desk, so no real room for a sump
  4. This is my room and I have to sleep with whatever noise is going on
Due to these reasons, I shelved the project and stored the Chi, believing it to be impossible for my current situation. 

Fast forward a few weeks and Ech0o has started saltwater tanks and is convincing me to try mine. After discussing with a few LFS employees at a couple stores, I decided to go on without a sump. I knew I would need to buy / upgrade:

• Filter system
  • Light Fixture
  • Sand
  • Heater
  • Saltwater 
  • Live Rock
I also know this tank will hold at most 1 fish, a CUC, and corrals.