Running A Tank With Sponge Filters

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

australia

Fish Addict
Reaction score
I am running sponge filters on my 680litre tank, each the sponge filter filter`s around 480 litres of water (thats what it says on the box of them!) i am running 5 of them atm, Do i need more filters?

this tank is going to be a african breeding tank!

Why are you running sponge filters? I use them in my small shrimp tanks, so that the minute fry don't get sucked up into an internal filter.
I am no expert on African cichlids, but I think of them as being big, quite 'dirty' fish. In a tank of that size, I would have thought that an external filter, or several powerful internal ones would be the minimum you would need.

Sponges are often cheaper in big tanks, just using 1 big airpump to power lots of sponge filters, if they do the job I don't see a problem with them.

To be honest, I really don't see them doing the job, but like I say, I'm no expert on cichlids. I'm sure that a real expert will turn up soon and shoot me down in flames. Good luck with tank anyway...

If each one is rated at 480 litres, and he has 5 of them then they should more than do the job. The only let down of sponges is that they don't really do mechanical filtration (for larger bits eg. poo). But for biological they are good.

OK, Shroob, I'll bow to your greater experience. I did not wish to mention 'poo', but as you have brought the subject up, this is what I meant about not fully doing the job. :rolleyes: My shrimps do not require much in the way of mechanical filtration, but I was guessing that it would be a much more major factor with the cichlid clan.