Rotkeil Or Red Headed Severum

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

WittLace

Reaction score
I am fairly new to fish keeping. I have a 29 gallon currently running with 2 green severum. I love them! I got them without knowing how big they would get. They are still fairly small (1-2 inches). I am interested in a bigger tank and also in different types of severum. What is the difference between rotkeil and red headed??? I cant figure out if they go by 2 names and are the same kind of fish or if they are different. I want a pair of rotkeil when I get a bigger tank of course. I have no idea where I would get them though. The lfs here is so-so. I am in Virginia. Any info would be helpful. Thanks!

Green sevs get quite big mate, 29 gallon will stunt their growth in a big way imo. You need a bigger tank before they hit 4" I reckon. Rotkeils are the same as the red shouldered severum or at least very close. Rotkeils would be ok in a 4ft long tank and the greens/gold/red spotted would need 5ft to be fair to them. They also need quite a deep tank as they are very deep bodied.

Green sevs get quite big mate, 29 gallon will stunt their growth in a big way imo. You need a bigger tank before they hit 4" I reckon. Rotkeils are the same as the red shouldered severum or at least very close. Rotkeils would be ok in a 4ft long tank and the greens/gold/red spotted would need 5ft to be fair to them. They also need quite a deep tank as they are very deep bodied.

+1