Ram cichlid advice and tank stocking. please help!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

exhoudos

Reaction score
Hey guys, first post on this forum. I'm an amateur for the most part with a few years experience, i lack alot of knowledge on many things as i mostly learned from my own tanks rather than doing much research. At any rate, we just got our own place and started a tank for the first time in years. Its 20g high, 78-79 degree range and ph 6.5. I have a crab of unspecified species(was in tank with bunch of guppies and tetras at store, so please tell me what it is!), I have 2 german or bolivian rams(store lady didnt specify), one green/emerald tiger barb, and one pleco. I have been feeding them bloodworms only and the pleco algae discs. The problem is that one of the rams has completed conquered this tank, chasing and restricting food from the other ram, and also chases the barb. The barb does not seem affected at all, she's perfectly healthy and many times wont respond to the aggression of the dominant ram. The pleco is healthy, and the crab is thriving. The ram that is being chased appears near death at this point from the stress of being bullied so ferociously. Not sure what to do at this point. I dont know if this means my tank is over stocked or if i picked the wrong mates. Any advice on what to stock this tank with? Or how to proceed with a ram tank. I will say that despite the frustration of the dominant ram, it is a very very beautiful and personable fish so we would like to keep it as our centerpiece specimen. Thank you for your help! I added a pic of the crab and 2 pictures of the dominant ram in the tank.

Attachments

• crab1.jpg
    crab1.jpg
    88.8 KB · Views: 216
  • ram1.jpg
    ram1.jpg
    76.8 KB · Views: 264
  • ram2.jpg
    ram2.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 224
Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Welcome to TFF.