Rainbow Shark Born To Be Gray?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lawalk

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hello :) I'm new to fish forums, but I've used the info from your forums for years. I decided to join because I a puzzling rainbow shark. I've had him for about 6 months now. When I got him he was very small, probably the smallest I've ever seen. He was pretty pale when I bought him, but I thought it was due to his small size/young age and the stressful conditions of the store. He has grown nicely and is now over 3 inches. However, his body never darkened up. His fins are a vibrant red though, so I'm not sure what could be causing the light body color. I know water parameters are a factor and I've had my eye on them. Everything seems fine. He acts normal. Could he just be a naturally light bodied fish or is there something I may be overlooking? Thanks in advance!

29 gallon tank
Opaline gourami
Rainbow shark
3 tiger barbs (had more with a different community, but these 3 kept killing the others)
1 mean ol black Molly (seriously the boss of the tank)

welcomeani.gif
to TFF! Hope you enjoy it here.

What are the water parameters exactly? And what test kit are you using?
What is your water change schedule like and what do you feed?

Can you get a picture? Is his body white? Some of them have a white body and others have a black one, so it could just be the type you got.

By not darkening up, you meant your rainbow shark is bluish-gray/ash-gray/pale powdery gray? If so, that is just a normal coloration. A preparation for maturity

My current water parameters are:
GH:  180
KH:  180
pH:  7.5
nitrite:  0
nitrate : 5