What's new

Questions about Transport and General Worries

Pet of the Month Starts Now!
FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 Click here to enter! 🐰

Inukshuk

Reaction score
Okay newbie here, please bear with me and my abundance of silly questions. :)

I recently got a young male betta (Last week), and i got him mainly as company for when i go off to school in the fall. I will be staying in residence throughout the week and coming home most weekends unless there's bad weather. Is it okay that he stays at school from Friday late afternoon to sunday? The drive to school takes usually only a hour (unless i happen to hit lots of traffic), but im worried about the trip with my little guy anyway. Not worried about a roommate because Ive requested a single room in a quiet area.

In case its of any relevance, hes a black halfmoon with white fins, very pretty. Hes been wonderfully active since i brought him home, always swimming around, looking for food, eating well. No concerns there as far as i can tell. He's only maybe 1 1/2 inches long (Maybe more, im bad at guessing), how long do you think it will take him to reach full size/fin length?

For transport, My plan as of right now is to put him in the glass jar i brought him home in (got him directly from a breeder and not a pet store), wrap it in a blanket, set that in a box, and keep it on my front seat of the car for the trip down. He'll be the last thing i pack the morning right before i go, of course. Will this be warm enough? should i put heating packs in with him? Will this stress him out too much? Its really important to me that hes transported properly.