Pond Build Question

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

BlackyMoory

Reaction score
Hi there! 

I found a really nice spot to build pond, but it would be 60 cm deep but could be raised higher if needed, The pond is for my 3 comet goldfish at least I think that's what they are! They are around 5 years old and 6 inches long :)

4%20live%20goldfish%20red%20yellow%20comet%20sarasa%20shubunkin%204-5%20inch%20koi%20pond.jpg

They look like the yellow goldfish, spotter goldfish and orange goldfish :)

I live in Ireland so would a pond heater be needed? The pond would be 360 litters roughly 120cmx60cmx50cm but because of it's odd shape it will be a little more! 

Thanks So much Everyone!!! 

Im no pond expert but im pretty sure a pond heater doesnt heat the pond it just prevents the surface from completely freezing over, in which case any pond would benefit from a pond heater in freezing conditions.

SLIM said:
Im no pond expert but im pretty sure a pond heater doesnt heat the pond it just prevents the surface from completely freezing over, in which case any pond would benefit from a pond heater in freezing conditions.

You are correct, would you know the coldest temperature my fish could live in?

Ponds are generally, if at all possible, built 6 feet deep. The reason for this is that the water gets a chance to drop into layers in cold weather and, due to the quirks of thermodynamics, water at 4C is heavier than any other form, so sinks down. You need about 6 feet of depth to keep this reliable and at that depth the goldies will survive all winter so long as the surface doesn't seal entirely. Lots of other things will also survive the winter in those ponds as well, giving you a healthier system overall.

If there's a way to dig down any further, then I would recommend it hugely, both for this and the water volume you get.