Pleco died, new to hobby please help!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

RoxaStitchXIII

Reaction score
IMG_1141.JPG
I am new to the hobby and I have done a lot of research on keeping fish but I just can't figure out why my little pleco died(he was on the top of the tank when I woke up this morning). His belly wasn't sunken in and I saw him eating last night after I turned the tank light off, he was quite active and has been since I got him (3 days ago)
My tank is 6ft tall and about 2ft across and 2ft deep and an octagon shape(I don't know what that is in gallons)
I tested the water for everything before I put them in and even got it tested at my local fish shop, and they said the water was pefect, the tank had been cycling for around 6 weeks before I put any fish in it and there was already some algae building up, but I also bought some plec pellets for it to be sure it was getting enough food.
He was only a small pleco and I have 5 other small fish in the tank, 2 small sucking loach, 2 small Kuhli loach(who hide until nighttime when they go crazy) and a small red tailed shark, the rest are all doing great so I can't understand why the pleco died.

One thing I have noticed is that one of the sucking loaches is getting slightly aggressive and chasing around the shark and other loach, but he is a lot smaller then the pleco so don't think he would have just killed him. If anyone has any idea what could have happened, maybe these fish just don't live well together or it could be something else in my environment, I just don't want to put any more fish in the tank until I know it's safe.

Sorry for my rambling, thank you for reading, Kate.

Hi Kate. Welcome to the forum.

I am sorry to be the one to have to say this, but there's a fairly significant problem with your tank, and unfortunately, there's not a whole lot you can do about it.