Platy Emergency

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

StarfireGraves

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
So, 

I have 2 females (for sure) who are quite round (I think they might be pregnant) and have a white anal opening. Should I be worried? 

One is a female high fin who is very very round and has what I think is a gravid spot but I am not sure.

The other is a female red wag who is not quite as round but still round.

I am kinda freaking out because I don't know exactly what is going on. This is my first time having platys, and I love them. I bought 4 females and 1 male a week ago and these two were a little fat looking then. 

Any information will be greatly appreciated.

Hugs and Smiles,
~Holly

It could be their birthing tube getting ready to drop fry, can you get a pic?

Platys are pregnant for about 1 month. (4 weeks)

When they are close to dropping, they will be big, and they bellies will slightly square off (this is when the belly looks a little more square than round, the bottom looks flatter)

If you see them swimming backwards with their tail tilted up this is usually when she is literally about to have her babies. Also she will probably go to a quiet hidden place away from the others.

Its quite hard to see a gravid spot on a dark coloured platy. if you shine a light behind them maybe you will see a darker tone, 
preg01.jpg

here you can see the babys eyes, this platy is close to having her babys, a gravid spot is the frys eyes appearing.

If you think she is going to give birth, put her in a breeders net if you want to keep the babys, you never know, you might get some amazing colours :) hope everything goes well

Thank you both very much. I signed a light on them like you said (From the back) And couldn't see eyes so I guess they
have a while to go yet. Again thank you.