Platies are dying I am confused need help

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Sarav

Reaction score
Hi ,

I am new to the hobby, I had got a 29 gallon tank. I had let it run with filter for about a week( I hoped good bacteria will develop over this time). Then i had introduced only 3 platies. Out of which 2 died in about 3 days.Then the remaining 1 was all alone for about a week.But it was not looking ok, then to give company i added just 1 more platy after about 2 weeks since i introduced first fish. Now one of the old surviving fish died , within 3 days the newly introduced fish too had died. So in 4 weeks of running the tank all the 4 platies died. I had been testing my water all along. Water parameters for last 3 weeks are always shows below constant values..

Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 5 to 10 ppm (mine is a medium planted tank has java ferns, water sprite, water wisteria, jungle val)
Ph: 7 to 7.3
Gh: 40 ppm
Kh: 40 ppm

I did water changes mostly every 4 days not more than 20%. I have an powerful hob filter and have an air stone too.

I even took water sample 2 LFS , they too shared the same result.

Common symptoms which platies showed are first avoiding food, then after few days always going to surface for breathing finally before dying sinking to bottom for a day or so.gills were bit red.

One update was i had a higrow willow plant which had badly wilted away before i introduced first 3 fishes. And all the initial 3 were nibbling away at it. Not sure if that could have caused any issue.

I had thought may be it can be gill flukes, i have even dozed prazipro 2 times (5 ml doses),but last 2 fishes never recovered too.

Sorry for a long post, but wanted to give details.

Please say if anyone had same problem with platies.My guy at LFS said no issue with water quality all is good, just a bad batch of platies may be. He said platies may need a even more harder water, which could be a cause,jot sure of that.