Plants Turning Brown

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

porsche714

Reaction score
newbie here and needs help :unsure: I dont know the name of my plants all i know is i have java moss and thats about it lol. ok why are my plants turning brown at the tip of the leaf? right now im using 2 bags of eco-complete and marine sand in the front. i have a heater (how much do i set the heater to?) and two 15 watt lights. no co2. i started this setup last week so the water is pretty new i did add a "aqua safe" water conditioner and "cyble reduces fish loss" i put 3 one teaspoon of each.

also how big will those little cat fish grow up to? and for the sucker fish its about 8" long and it just hide in out spot under the drift wood. we also have a 14" sucker fish but it died :( should i take out the sucker fish ?

oh and I am from the United States of America.

this is what im using
chap104.jpg

chap102.jpg

sucker fish
chap097.jpg

catfish
chap081.jpg

plants numbered
chap088.jpg

chap090.jpg

chap085-1.jpg

ur tank is new I presume so its normal..get some ottos(2 inces)or my fav bistle nose plec(5inches)...they suck on browm algae

You need to add ferts for the plants. It's a sign of nutrient deficiency.
You should also find out the type of fish and plants you got. Do some research.
It'll save you a lot of problems.

1) Read the instructions on those bottles, I am guessing that 3 teaspoons of each is either too much (AquaSafe) and too little (Cycle)
2) Marine Sand in freshwater? If it is coral based then it may well raise your pH significantly, it is labelled marine sand as it is usually for marine aquariums only, though I may be wrong.