Planted Tank Plan

ejoypousson

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm rather new to fishkeeping, having gotten a betta only around 3 months ago, but I'm interested in starting a planted tank. I've been doing a bunch of research, on this forum as well as elsewhere, and I'm trying to consolidate the things I've learned into a plan for a planted tank. Would someone with more experience be so kind as to read through this and tell me if this is ok?
smile.png

• Tank size: 5.5 gallon
  • Substrate system: Substrate additives for beneficial bacteria and nutrients on the bottom, porous chips, then Fluorite, and some sand/gravel on top for 3 inches of total substrate
  • Plants: I haven't picked my plants yet but I definitely want to heavily plant, and I'll be choosing low to moderate light plants
  • Light: 1.5-2 WPG, 10 hours/day
  • Fish: 1 betta, 4 pygmy cories
  • CO2: Not sure if I should bother with adding any as I want this to be as low maintenance as possible. Although I would like the plants to grow in faster initially, I don't mind having a longer wait if it's ultimately less trouble. But I'm not sure if I'd have enough fish in there to supply the plants' needs. I'm not going to go for a diffusing system if I end up adding CO2, I'd probably use something like Seachem Excel. Any advice on whether I should add CO2? 
  • Filter?: I don't want to use a filter, would that be ok?
I'm thinking of adding the fish to the tank not more than a week after I set it up. 

Does heavily planting allow for more stocking? If it's possible I'd like to increase my number of pygmy cories to 6 and get an otocinclus catfish.

Hello and welcome :hi:

We are always happy to see new members join us.