Plant stocking options

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰
Reaction score
Hello, I have a 55 gal tank with gravel and only fake plants. So I have no experience with live plants. I was wanting some to fill in and create more hiding places for fish. What plants would you suggest i also will not be doing co 2 and I'm not sure yet about fertilizer. Anything will help . thanks

Welcome to TYFF. :hi:

The first thing we/you need to know is the data on your tank lighting. There are plants that do well with low to moderate lighting, and those that must have more intense lighting. The spectrum is also important. Any data you can give us on your present lighting will help.

CO2 is not needed at all unless you intend an aquatic garden high-tech planted tank. That doesn't sound like what you're after, and "natural" planted tanks are easy to manage provided the selected plants will work with your lighting. Other fertilizers may or may not be needed, again depending upon the light and plant species. Generally speaking, faster-growing plants need brighter light and more nutrients in balance, while slower-growing species require less of both.

The tank dimensions are also important, as height obviously affects light penetration.

Thanks for replying, my dimensions are 27 in tall 4ft wide and 1 foot deep. I will get lighting in a second.

I'm not sure what's necessary but its a 48 in deluxe florescent aquarium reflector . 120v , 40w and 60 hz.