The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Status
Not open for further replies.

nicksct

Reaction score
Hello

I am new to the hobby and am thinking about a couple of Pictuses as the centre piece of my aquarium. I have a 135l hexagonal one currently being run in.

What I would like to know is
1 Is this suitable for these fish and
2 What colourful tankmates aresuitable for this fish.I do not want them eaten in a year or so!
eg Red Tailed Black Shark Siamese Flying Fox Guppies, Danios Bettas Angelfish Platys etc

Thanks

Nick

That's about 25 gallons as a hex. In my opinion a 30 gallon rectangular is minimum.
The swimming space in a hex is too small and they will get stressed. They are fast & highly active fish and need plenty of room I'm afraid.

A pair of Angelfish would be lovely for such a tank. And perhaps some cories for the bottom if you want some activity.

hey hey a pictus was my first (and currently only) fish!
as far as i am aware anything is pretty much ok so long as it doesnt fit in the pictus's mouth lol

i doupt it would eat the red tail but as they are both aggressive fish it might get a bit ugly

Anything is not exactly OK. As these fish are super / hyper active, they can frighten smaller more docile shy fish - and even beat the slower fish to food. Which may leave the slower fish always hungry / starving. Choose tank mates with care.
Pictus are not aggressive either. They may well carnivores / omnivores but I have not ever witnessed strong territorial behaviour or aggression towards other fish.

lol if i was a fish i would be a pictus
hyperactive,rowdy,long flowing whiskers.... yeah,sounds like me

mmmm i might go gobble up a few neons.......