Over pregnant guppys??

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

tropicalsteve1

Reaction score
I have two over prgnant guppys the main one hasd been clearly pregnant for over 12 weeks!!!! Is this posible?? I have checked all the tank perams and they are all stable she isnt being harased by the male. But she seems to like swimming on her own recently at the serfece to one end of the tank. I can see little light brown paches in her gravid spot. ( presumably the fry?) hew looks like she is going to burst Sorry for all this but im new to this breeding game. :*) Im just a bit worried as i thought they were suposed to normaly have there fry every 3, 4, weeks or so? Can anyone shed a little light on the subject????
fishy regards, steve. :D

They can hold onto the fry if they feel the conditions aren't right...so what exactly are the water params? And what other fish do you have? Has she been secluding herself at all? Any info you can give about the tank would be great. :)

If you can see light brown patches, chances are they are the fry, which means she should be getting close. :nod:

The perams are amonia 0, nitrate and ph are normal acording to the tests. but yes she has been excluding herself. For the last week or so she has been hanging around on her own at the top far side of the tank for alot of the time. Or just keeping out of the way of the other fish. It is a 4 foot long tank 2 foot high with plants rocks and bog wood. other fish include Dalmation mollys balloon mollys swordtails platies a pair of pigmie puffers a pair of dwarf goramie and a small angle fish. Two apple snails and a small red leged crab. All the other fish are doing well and all inhabitants seem to be cohabiting fine. :D i just wish she would have her fry as i have never had guppie babys befor and im getting exited. :*)
Fishy regards, Steve. :D