Orca Tl 550 Aquarium

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

deblin

Reaction score
Hi all
Just wondering the general view on the ORCA TL 550 fish tank as i am thinking of buying one. Has anyone come up with any problems? and would i need to get anythihng in addition to the tank for marine fish or corals?
Thanks

overall good tank for corals (lighting wise) obviously youll need more power heads, the skimmer is a bit crap but does the job.

overall good plug and play tank

overall good tank for corals (lighting wise) obviously youll need more power heads, the skimmer is a bit crap but does the job.

overall good plug and play tank

Thanks for your reply.
When you say power heads - do you mean wave machines? Sorry, i'm quite new to all this!
Also, do you know if the fans are ok inside of the light system as someone mentioned to me that the fans inside of the TL 450's needed replacing occasionally.

no not wave makers power heads are used to draw water and blast it in all directions of the aquarium. for the tl550 you need about 3 power heads that add up to 2400 LPH(litres per hour) look at these
http://www.charterhouse-aquatics.co.uk/cat...dce29524d5b9e59

also the fans shouldnt need replacing just cleaning, but you may find they get noisy and at that point its a good time to replace them (with a different brand)

I have the 450 so can comment on this exact tank but I think i terms of equipment they are pretty similar.

Lighting is ok for most soft corals and a few LPS.
As mentions you may need 1 or 2 power heads to increase the water movement (I would recommend the korillia's).
The fans on the 450 got really loud but are easy to replace.
The skimmer on the 450 was rubbish but you can use it or even run without it and replace it at a later date.

The tank itself is very nice.

Other things you will need:
Refractometer or hydrometer to check salinity