What's new

Old member returning

Pet of the Month Starts Now!
FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 Click here to enter! 🐰

TwistedHelix

Reaction score
Hi guys, used to frequent here back in 2007-2009. My tank got incurable NTD even after meticulous care before, and during it all and kind of lost the passion and interest.

Bought a new house recently and a good big tank will suit it nicely.

I shall be posting the usual newbie questions again just to check if anything has changed but I'll see if they've been answered already so no reposts hopefully.

I am a scientist (Analytical Chemistry) so hopefully I can help with regards to some water chemistry questions.

Cannot wait to get my new tank up and running.

Getting the Juwel Rio/Vision 400/450.

Had a 180 litre tank last time and loved it. Bigger tanks are much easier to maintain from what I remember.

I joined the forum about the time you left :)

I can think of two things that have changed since I joined in 2006. Planted tanks are a lot more popular now, and we understand fishless cycling better. If you plan on doing a fishless cycle, check out the newer method which uses our better understanding of the bacteria involved http://www.fishforums.net/forums/cycle-your-tank.291/

Ah yes! I did a fishless cycle before and it was certainly more successful than fish cycles.

I shall read up on the progresses made.

I always love real plants in aquariums anyway so always had planted tanks by aesthetic choice but nice to know it has functional uses too.

Feeling all excited again like in 2007 when I last picked it up. Love just watching shoals go by for hours.