Norfolk very own rift lake...

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Gweeds1980

Reaction score
Hello, first post so go easy on me :)

I've been keeping fish - fresh and salty - since I was 6... I'm now 38 and don't know half of anything really!

What I have learned, in the main, is that big tanks are easier and more or less, how to keep fish alive :)

Current tank has only been set up since July this year - it had been home to my reef previously but the birth of our 4th child meant that time and money were at a premium. My wife and I (ok, mainly my wife lol) decided the reef needed to go...

Now I have kept softwater fish mainly when I've had freshies... but as the water comes out of the tap with a Gh of 19, I decided rift lake cichlids were the way forward - this tank was all about making maintenance easy.

I am a biologist by training (degree level), but got lured over to the corporate world... so although I have a very keen interest in biology in general and know the basics well, I'm out of step nowadays. However, I do like to experiment and push the boundaries a little... which will become apparent as you read through.

The tank itself is on the 'large' side of normal... 8'3" x 26" x 26"... a corner weir connects to a 200 litre sump via a durso overflow. Down in the sump there is 4 chambers. The first has a filter sock followed by bioballs and biocenosis baskets, second has the intake for the UV, 2 x 300w heaters and the intake for the fluidised reactor which is full of carbon. The third chamber has the ATO and the returns for the UV and reactor. The final chamber has a 12000lph return pump. Also down there is a 80 litre reservoir for the ATO. Above the tank sits glass covers to reduce evaporation and two 4ft led units on timers.

In the tank there is just the return from the sump and two 20,000lph wavemakers for surface agitation and to reduce deadspots.