Nitrate levels high

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Chris king

Reaction score
hi everyone ,
I have an issue with my nitrate levels , my tank has cycled (fishless) and I added my first few fish 2 weeks ago 3 platys . I did a 25% water change after a week and everything seemed fine until the next day when my nitrate levels rocketed ... I have an api master test kit and yes I am using it correctly as per instructions, my tank was reading 40ppm nitrate so I done a 40% water change and that made absolutely no difference . So I decided to test my tap water and guess what 40ppm ish in my tap water? I even went to the extent of buying another kit and testing again of course the same result 40ppm. What are my options here I live in the Uk and that seems to be high but still acceptable acording to my water supplier , Iā€™m getting more worried about the fish everyday that goes by and although the fish seem perfectly fine at the min They canā€™t live like that forever surely .
Any help will be appreciated
Thanks in advance
Chris

40ppm is higher than preferred but still in the acceptable range. You donā€™t want above 40. Since it is in your tap water, you can do one of 2 things: 1). Depending on size of tank, you can use bottled water and do 50% water change. This should bring you down to 20ppm nitrates. My question though is: How low did you get your nitrates to when Cycle was complete? If in your tap at 40, it should have never gotten lower than 40. Ok, 2). You can use API Nitra Zorb to lower your nitrates. It works well for me. You can order online through Amazon. Good luck and keep us posted.

Last edited:
High nitrates seem to be a recurring theme in the UK due to you lot having recycled tap water. There are several options to help with this, a Pozzani filter that will absorb nitrates from the tap water, floating plants, reverse osmosis or distilled water.