Newbie Sos! Cycles, Babies, And Passing Fish!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

JacCash

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone! I am new to Fishforums, and new to the fish world. I am looking for all the help I can get! I was given a 10-gallon as a birthday gift, and I went to a specialty fish store here in town as soon as I got it. I was given 4- white cloud minnows and was told they would cycle my tank and not to take anything out of my water, add any water, or change my filter for at least 8 weeks, and to look at getting Molly fish after 4 weeks or so. In the first five weeks I looked up different types of fish, what they eat, how to care for them, who would be happy in my tank pretty much. I brought my water to Petsmart, and they tested it and told me it was perfect, and I got two dalmatian balloon Mollys. They told me to change my filter now, so I did. And they said to wait another week or so to come back for the clown pleco. A week later, I got my bottom feeder, and a piece of drift wood, and mentioned to the gentlemen that the more I read online, the more I feel I should really be doing water changes, even though the specialty store told me not to 8 weeks. He said to absolutely do a 20% water change, he re-tested my water, it was absolutely perfect, so I did the water change. I noticed one of my molly's was almost.. hyper. like, going crazy in the currents.