Newbie questions

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

DaveJH

Reaction score
Hey guys
Im Dave. Very new to the hobby. Just finished setting my tank up yesterday. Its a 96litre long.
I'll be leaving it for 2 days before I begin cycling it (with ammonia). So thought id use that time to do a bit of testing. My water straight out of the tap has a PH of between 6.4 to 6.6. Stood some of it for 12hrs & a test of that has a PH of between 6.8 to 7.0. I'll be doing another test after it being stood for 24hrs, just to try & get a true reading.

My question is - when the cycle is done, fish are in, & I'm ready to do my first weekly water change, will I need to stand the change water 24hrs before hand, or will the fluctuation of 6.4 upto 7.0 PH not affect the fish with the 10-20% changed water?

My apologies if it seems like a dim question, but Im really new to all of this & I want to get it right

Welcome to TFF. :hi:

Tap water may often contain dissolved CO2, and this creates carbonic acid which then lowers the pH. Letting it sit 24 hours should outgas the CO2, and the reading you then have will be reliable. Shaking a sample of the tap water very vigorously for several moments can also outgas the CO2; some suggest the 24 hour method to be more reliable. [This does not need to be done with aquarium water, only fresh tap water.]

Along with pH, it is important (even more so) to know the hardness. GH is general or total hardness, and rather than waste money for a test kit you may only use the once, see if you can find this data on the website of your municipal water authority, While there, the KH (carbonate hardness or Alkalinity) is also worth knowing, as this buffers pH. Fish have preferences for hardness, more than for pH provided the latter is not extreme or volatile, so it is worth knowing which species will thrive in your water. Adjusting parameters is possible but involved and carries some risk.