Newbie Here and I have a few questions!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

4drum

Reaction score
Hi i'm Alicia,
I grew up having a tropical community tank. Then when my youngest wanted fish we had a tank for a few years. Then he got sick and we had to take a break.

In March we started a new tank, 20 gallon with a Fluval filter. Here's my problem. We had a ruff start, I thought I cycled my tank. But didn't do that right and loss a few fish.

Now things where going really well, all my water testings at the fish store where good finally. SO we got a few more fish. We loss two in the past three days! No signs of sickness. The black phantom tetra was doing a weird open mouth breathing yesterday morning and then he was dead last night.

I got my own testing kit, everything was good except the ph was a little high at 7.2. Everything else is normal. I've done a 25% water change and earlier this week did filter maintenance.

Any suggestions and help I would really appreciate!

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to the forum! Sorry you've had a rough start, hopefully we can get everything fixed. c:
Do you have the exact test results? How did you maintain the filter?

Here are my results:
PH 7.2
Ammonia 0 ppm
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate o ppm

I rinsed the sponge, each month i rinse out one of the components in the filter. I also did my bi-weekly 25% water change with the gravel vacuum.

Now I have another guppy laying on the bottom of the tank. I can't see any sick signs. He looks healthy came up to eat, but went right back to laying in the bottom of the tank :(

Odd! Are you rinsing the sponge in tap water, or old tank water? Do you add water conditioner? Is the tank heated, and if so, what temperature?
Sorry for all the questions.

Hi i'm Alicia,
I grew up having a tropical community tank. Then when my youngest wanted fish we had a tank for a few years. Then he got sick and we had to take a break.