elldavis_x

Reaction score
hey!! I am new to this forum!

So I am soon to be buying a 100L tank and will be going freshwater tropical.

I have never had tropical before, but I hope to make it look as cool as possible, only problem is that I'm not sure what fish are best suited for each other etc. :fish:
I've recently taken a liking to Discus, however I have been told these are very difficult to keep and cannot be kept with many other species? Is this true?

I have also taken a liking to figure 8 puffer although I am aware these are aggressive.

Can anyone give some advice on what fish would look good and also be happy together? As well as live in a similar environment? I don't want it to be too tricky while I'm just getting started:fish:

Thanks!!7

Hi there, welcome to the forums :)

The first thing you need to do is find out the hardness and pH or your water; you should be able to find out somewhere on your supplier's website. You should always try and stock with fish that will do well in your local water, as it's a lot of hassle to change it (and it can be a tricky job too).

I can tell you that a 100l tank would not be big enough for discus; you'd need something at least twice that size, as they need to be kept in groups and do get quite big. They need much warmer water than most other tropicals, which is part of the reason tankmates are so difficult, but they're also quite shy and can be put off eating if there are other, more boisterous, fish in the tank. They do demand very high quality water too, so they're not the easiest fish for a beginner to the hobby. I'd start with something a bit less demanding, if I were you!

I don't know much about figure eight puffers; I think they might need brackish (slightly salty) water, and they need a diet that keeps their 'beak' from becoming overgrown, so you wouldn't be able to feed them 'normal' fish foods.