New To The Hobby

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

JWilliams24

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to the hobby and have been looking at the Fluval Roma 90 as a tank for my first tropical setup! Just wondering if anyone has any experience about this kit and any advice for myself as a beginner!

Anything given will be a huge help!

Thanks a lot,

Josh

Hello and welcome!

90 litres is a nice size for a beginner, though if you can afford the money/space for a bigger one I would definitely go for it as you'll want it later. Bigger tanks mean more fish, suitability for more types of fish and greater water stability.

When I started out I wanted a kit with everything I needed in it as I didn't really know what I was doing, but it was a poor decision really and I ended up replacing the equipment that came with the tank. These pre-bundled kits tend to give you equipment that is only just adequate for the size of the tank it comes with.

That's not to say the Fluval Roma 90 is a bad tank (Fluval is a reputable brand), but if you can find one second hand you'll save yourself a fair bit of money, which you can then spend on decent equipment for it. If you're not sure what you need, do feel free to ask around here. The people here are great and I regret not asking when I was starting out!

I would at the very least be looking for an external filter, which gives a little more water volume to your system, is easier to maintain as you don't have to put your hands in the tank and doesn't take up space in the tank. I would personally recommend the Fluval 205 for this purpose.

Thanks for the reply and advice! :D Great help! Thank you!

Will make sure to keep all updated when I get started!! Sure I'll be needing this forum again for help soon! :p

Oh, also to ask; what External filter and heater would you guys recommend for a 90 litre or 205?? :)