New to the hobby, Looking for stocking suggestions.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Bongwater420

Reaction score
Hey all,
I'm new to the fishkeeping world and I'm looking for some advice on what to stock in my tank. My tank (90 gallon) is currently cycling using filter media from a friends well established arrowana tank and a few goldfish (9) in there (simply because I didnt like seeing the tank empty [emoji14] ).
So, while I'm waiting for the tank to cycle, I thought I'd research what I'd like to put in there to ensure compatibility (for both aggression and water parameters). The problem I've run into is there seems to be conflicting information on this subject. I'll read or watch one thing that say they're compatible, then 10 mins later I read or watch something that says they're not.
Thus, here I am asking you guys and your plethora knowledge to please give me some clarity.

Here is what I'm thinking of stocking;

Dwarf gourami × 2
Angelfish × 2
Crimson tetra ×10
Sailfin molly × 2
Galaxy Rasbora × 10
German blue ram × 4
Pleco ×1 (not sure which type doesn't exceed 6-8")

From what I gather these fish *should* get along.
I am also open to different stocking options, my goal is a colourful, peaceful community tank.

Please help!

Sent from my SM-A530W using Tapatalk

Hi there, welcome to the forum :)

Your stocking list is not that great right now; I'll try and explain the main reason why.

In nature, there are two 'kinds' of water; hard water, which has a lot of minerals and salts dissolved in it, and soft water, which has very few or no minerals in it.

All fish have evolved to live in one kind of water or the other and, although some species are quite adaptable, most need to be kept in the 'right' (for them) sort of water.