New to Keeping Fish-10 gal tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Tayfish3

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to fish aquariums and I've already made some beginner's mistakes. I already feel bad enough so please be nice. I do want to learn and give my fish a happy home!

1. I listened to a fish store's misinformation and got 3 tiger barbs, 1 green barb, and a bala shark for my 10 gal tank about 3 days ago...also put in with a 2yr old gold fish who is quite resilient given the circumstances he was living in before I got involved. I know goldfish are more cold water fish, but the person at the store said he should be fine in mid 70's water.
2. I do have a heater, filter, and bubbles for the tank and will regularly check the temperature.
3. I know to siphon 30% of the water and replace once a week and vacuum the pebbles. Feed them twice a day as much as they will eat in 3 min.

I let the new fish float in their bags for 20min to get used to the new environment. For the first 48 hours everything seemed to be fine. They were all swimming around, eating, and getting used to each other. The one green barb was being a little bit of a bully to one of the little tiger barbs, but it didn't last long. Then the next day I saw that one of the tiger barbs was hanging in the bottom left corner in the decorative grass. He wasn't swimming around with the others and seemed a little lethargic. Everyone else was fine. Welp, I woke up this morning and that tiger barb was dead and so was the bala shark. I can understand about the barb because he was already acting weird, but the bala was fine. I did read that they are aggressive swimmers and shouldn't be kept in a small tank, so maybe he swam into the wall or something? I would not have gotten him had I read and not listened to the person working at the fish store for this size tank.