New to fish: Betta tank shopping list

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Shazamo

Reaction score
Hi Folks:

I'm brand new to fish and have been doing a lot of research. I've to decided to set up a small aquarium for 1 betta that will reside on my kitchen table so I have someone to talk to at mealtime. (I'm single and retired.) I have future plans to have a larger (~60 gallon) tank but have to watch my budget.

My city's water parameters are at http://www.louisvilleco.gov/home/showdocument?id=514. pH is at 8.41. What other useful numbers are in this report?

My plan is to purchase the following pieces. Note so far I have a yellow submarine for decoration:)

Fluval Spec V 5 gallon kit
Hydor Theo 50w heater (maybe slight overkill but my house can get cool)
20lb Caribsea ECO complete planted black substrate (20lb is the only size)
API freshwater Master test Kit
tube style thermometer
pure ammonia
net
sponge filter to buffer the filter output
live plants, maybe 4?
start-up chemicals
Marimo moss balls (they look neat)
http://www.petco.com/shop/en/petcostore/product/eco-complete-planted-black-aquarium-substrate
How much ammonia should I buy? I know there is a calculator to determine exact measurements. I found a local store that sells it in 1 gallon jugs. Is that a good size to get?

Any specific plant recommendations and quantities?

I'll go thru the water cycling process as outlined elsewhere on TFF.

I'm a little confused on what chemicals I need to start with. Looking at an API brochure, I should get Stress Coat which makes tap water safe. Then do I need Quick Start if I'm using the Caribsea stuff?

Later I'll get the betta and food.

Thanks for everyone's help!

Conrad Thomaier
Louisville, CO. USA

20lb Caribsea ECO complete planted black substrate (20lb is the only size)

Do not waste your money on this stuff.

Marimo moss balls (they look neat)