New To Bettas, Thinking Of Breeding

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Jessman

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to bettas, having bought my first male yesterday. I'm more experienced in livebearers such as guppies and platys. 

My betta is housed in a 25l bowl, undergravel filter, 50w heater (smallest i could find, couldn't get a hold of 25w) he seems pretty happy. 

I'm feeding him ground brine shrimp with healthy nutrients and some other things in the powder (something my mum bought) he seems to love it! 

I have a plastic plant in the bowl, took it from my main tank, the edges of the leaves are slightly spiked, ive heard this can damage the bettas fins, any suggestions on which plant i could get?

I've also heard that breeding bettas is a great experience so i'm thinking of doing that in a few weeks. 
Of course I'll have to buy two more bowls or small tanks, (about the same size as the bowl he's in now) for the female and the fry. 
Here are the basics i know about betta breeding

- the male will produce a bubble nest
- put a female in his bowl
- he will twist or something around her while she releases eggs
- once the eggs are in the bubble nest take the female out
- when the fry are free-swimming take the male out

I'm just wondering when do you know to put the female in, as in when do you know she is ready to release eggs? are they just ready anyway or does it take time to produce them?

I know quite a bit about breeding platys and guppies as i am doing that anyway, with a separate tank for the fry until they are ready to be re-homed or move the favourites to the main tank. 

Also, is it relatively easy to breed them or quite a challenge?

Any advice, help, or thoughts about the bettas would be very much appreciated! Thanks