New To Bettas, Can You Help Me Sort Out Information Overload? :)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

dutchmodernist

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm really new to fish, and realize I may be a bit over my head with information. There are so many different opinions out there and different, equally complex sets of instructions.

I have 2 tanks, both 5 days old.

Tank 1:
5 gallon
5 female bettas
1 blue mystery(apple) snail
charcoal whisper filter
2 live plants
some decorations to hide in
No nitrites, no nitrates
ph 7.8
temp 76-78 degrees f

Tank 2:
2 gallon tank
1 male betta
1 mystery snail
2 plants
airstone style aerator
"under gravel filter"
some shells to hide in
Same water conditions as tank 1

So first off, I didn't know about cycling until I did some reading last night. The test strips I got don't test for ammonia, but there are no nitrates or nitrites detected. The fish seem very active and happy. What should I look for as the cycling happens, or am I good to go?

I am going to do a weekly water change. How much should I change? I keep reading different amounts. Is 10% or 25% correct?

Clearly the water is too alkaline. Do I add chemicals, or is there a better means to lower it?

They all get a mixed diet of bio-pellets, bettamin flakes, and dried blood worms. Any issues with those?

Any other advice that will help me be a better fish mommy will be greatly appreciated!! Thank you!

Pics:
n39606082_32227890_275.jpg

n39606082_32227891_678.jpg

n39606082_32227892_1058.jpg

You may need to step up your water changes initially as the ammonia will build up and can be harmful to your fish.. A testing kit for ammonia would be invaluable to you and the liquid ones are really accurate.
Feed very little at this stage as this will also effect ammonia levels .
This should explain things better than i can: http://fins.actwin.com/mirror/begin-cycling.html