New Nano Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

aussieant32

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi All

I'm a veteran reefkeeper but it has been a long time since I have had any freshwater fish. I have a few questions :)

I was gifted a nano tank (30L) which is currently cycling. It will cycle for about 3-4 weeks as I am going overseas and do not want it stocked prior.

I have started to think about suitable fish for this tank once it is ready. Now I do not have any other freshwater tanks so this will be its permanent home.

Originally I was thinking 3-4 pygmy corys and a betta but have seen that now days there are a few more fish suited to the nano environment available. I am really open to suggestions.

Does anyone have any suggestions on some fish suited to this size tank? I am quite conscious of my fish's quality of life so anything that will 'do ok' isn't really on the table.

Thank you all!!

Last edited:
If you are getting a Betta then forget about tank mates in a 30 L tank.
What sort of tank is it?

Just a tank. Added a heater and hob I had lying around.

So why would a betta cause a problem for a pygmy cory?

Male Bettas are solitary fish and best kept that way, Your tank is too small for Cories.

reccomdation for pygmeus is 3l per specimen?

any suggestions then rather just saying no to every idea?

Can you tell us about your tap water first please, is it hard or soft?

it can be anything. base will be RO so can build to anything to suit inhabitants requirements

What are the dimensions of the tank?