New member here, looking at doing a planted tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

lcornell6

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Although I have had a few freshwater aquariums before, I have never done a planted tank before.

I am considering doing a 30 gal tank using dark sand and slate rocks, and include a piece of bonsai driftwood. I suspect this is a riverbed arrangement?

I have not decided on the plants yet. I am looking at using some short grasses for the front and center, and some taller grasses for the back on one side. Based on this style of substrate, rocks, and bonsai, what fish and plants should I consider using?

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

What fish you add will depend on your water chemistry, ie: general hardness (GH) & pH.
Do you know what the GH & pH of your water is?

I assume you will be doing a tropical tank?

How much light and what type of lighting did you have or did you plan on using?

Did you want to go over the top and add carbon dioxide (CO2), or just a simple planted tank?

-------------------------

If you go simple planted tank you can use plants like Ambulia, Hygrophila polysperma & ruba, Ludwigia natans, Amazon Swordplants, Vallisneria (narrow is the best to try). These plants should all be planted in the substrate. If you want a floating plant you can try Ceratopteris thalictroides or the other species and it can either be planted or float on the surface.

You can then add a liquid plant fertiliser several times a week. Iron based fertilisers are the main type to use, and you should invest in an iron test kit to monitor the iron levels in the water. I use Sera Florena and the Sera Iron test kit, but you can use whatever is available to you.