New Catfish! What Do You Think?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

FlyingSquid

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
I recently purchased a fish labeled "Shovelnose" from a rundown local fish store. I saw this poor guy in a 10 gallon tank and dropped $20 on him. He looks to me like he's a Sorubim lima or a Lima Shovelnose Cat. I'm new to Cats so any advice would help or a confirmation on the ID of this fish. He's really cool
smile.png

Here's a picture:
http://s1173.photobucket.com/user/FlyingSquid16/media/Mobile%20Uploads/20140208_153319_zpscrufy2tf.jpg.html

Be aware that this catfish can grow 4 to 5 feet and has tremendous appetites. How long is it now? A 6-inch specimen will require more than 50 US gallons and can swallow fish half its size.

If indeed it is a Sorubim Lima (and it does look like one) it may grow to a little over 20"

Tongue_Flicker said:
Be aware that this catfish can grow 4 to 5 feet and has tremendous appetites. How long is it now? A 6-inch specimen will require more than 50 US gallons and can swallow fish half its size.
The fish is a little under 7 inches and is housed with a large Jack Drmpsey Cichlid and Parrot in my 55
When he gets a little larger I'll put him in the cycling 80. And I doubt he'll get that large, biggest I've seen is 24"
KirkyArcher said:
If indeed it is a Sorubim Lima (and it does look like one) it may grow to a little over 20"
It looks like a Lima to me, but I like to make sure. Thanks.

looking-glass said:
hes cool :) hope you enjoy him :)
Thank you :) I will. He's quite the character.
But on a more serious note, What should I feed this guy?

I would imagine he's a big eater, Id keep the diet as varied as possible supplement the catfish pellets with lots of high quality frozen/live food like bloodworm etc :)

looking-glass said: