New 240l Community Tank Questions

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Sarahnya

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm relatively new to fish keeping so still getting to grips with things.

Currently I have a 100ltr tank which is stocked with the following :

4 Chain Loach
2 Otos
10 Diamond Tetra
4 Columbian Tetra
2 Neon Blue Goby
4 Guppies
4 Kuhli Loaches
1 African filter shrimp (baby)

Everyone is getting on well but they are getting bigger now so I'm upgrading a Juwel Rio 240ltr next month.

I'd like to know how many more fish if any I could add.

I'm not thinking masses more, just perhaps some more Kuhli, Otodex and Columbian to make up a nice group.

However to throw a spanner in the works I've seen some amazing blue Angelfish in my lfs. Would I have an issue putting 1 or two in the 240l?

I'm also a bit partial to Blue Gourami, any probs with these guys?

Good that you will soon be upgrading to a larger tank; that will hopefully prevent issues that would otherwise occur fro the mix of fish in a too small tank.

I don't know your source water parameters (GH, pH and KH) so I will leave that issue alone. The goby need more water current, and less warm temperatures, but neither should cause much difficulty for the other fish mentioned, though I personally would recommend the goby be in their own space...they could remain in the 100 liter tank perhaps?

Which brings me to the suggested additions. I would increase the Columbian Tetra to at least seven or eight total.